Monday, 21 November 2016

#14 Life as a Graduate - One Year On

First of all, how has it been five months since I last posted on here?! I feel like I say it all the time but time goes by so quickly, I'm sure it never went this quick when I was younger. I can't believe it has now been over a year since I graduated. I think we can all agree that 2016 has been quite a year to put it lightly, and I have to say that my first graduate year has been pretty all over the place too.

I have talked before about dealing with the uncertainty of grad life, and I think a huge part of the stress was due to the fact I really had no idea what to do next and having no one to coach me through it. Once I received my degree unease waved over me and reality kicked in. For three years my life was solely about completing my studies. I loved having my days planned out and organised, knowing exactly what I had to do and by when; as a graduate that goes out the window. Fortunately, I had another course lined up (CELTA) and I was able to jump into learning once again, which kept me busy for a number of months.

Then, I achieved my CELTA and I was once again thrown into uncertainty and confusion. Go abroad? Stay? Go travelling? Intern? Volunteer? Get a job? What kind of job to get? I felt sick with worry and stress. My love of learning and supporting others (as well as my experience in ELT) led me to go down the route of working in education. I submitted my CV to an education agency, was quickly put on their books and ensured I would get a job asap. They didn't explain that schools rarely recruit near the end of the school year so I was basically 'left in the lurch' for a while. I applied for numerous internships and jobs meanwhile and heard nothing back. My confidence took a knock and I genuinely thought I had nothing to offer. I kept myself busy while job searching but it was a horrible time and I felt really low.

A downside to studying with the Open University is that it is geared towards those who are in employment or have an extensive work background, so there were no work experience opportunities (at least not with the course I was on). I think that if I had volunteered or done some relevant work experience alongside my course I would have felt more confident in my skills and knowledge (even though I had worked before my degree). I do think there needs to be more help and guidance with adjusting to post-uni life and finding experience/work as I honestly felt so helpless, lost and clueless - I had no idea where to turn.

Luckily, just before I completely lost my mind, a call came through and I secured myself a job as a Primary Teaching Assistant. I love that I now have purpose to my days, I'm in a learning based environment, and I work with some fab colleagues and kids. It can be draining at times but it is also so rewarding. I am able to use my skills and knowledge daily, and I now feel like my studies have been worthwhile. Will I be a TA forever? No. But for now I am working on saving as much as I can and strengthening my skills so I am ready for the next step, whatever that is.

My first year as a graduate has taught me lots about myself and life - in the words of Kylie Jenner it has been about 'realising stuff'. I'm glad that this year is finishing on a high note for me and at last I have some stability, but 2016 has been a shocker and I am more uncertain than ever about the future and where we are going as a collective.

If you are reading this and are in a similar situation to me, remember that perseverance is key and (annoyingly) things don't happen over night. Know what you are good at and find evidence to show this - this is not just great for job hunting, but I find it also helps with self-confidence. Life is weird and tough, and no one really knows what they are doing. Focus on now and try to make the most of whatever it is you're doing. Here's to hoping that my second year as a graduate will be less stressful, with more rewards and positive growth.

Monday, 20 June 2016

#13 Flat Belly Fiction

Throwing another pair of shorts onto the ever-growing pile, I let out a huge sigh. Not of relief, but of frustration. I am one pair of shorts away from dramatically collapsing on my bed, and declaring I'm incarcerating myself in my bedroom for the summer. No amount of strutting like BeyoncĂ©, or contorting in front of my mirror seeking 'good lighting' is making me feel better. There's an image in my mind of the kind of body that all these shorts belong on, and it's 100% not mine.

This annual pre-sunbathing routine was a fixture in my life for years, beginning in my early-teens. Womens' bodies have been broken down into 'problem areas' for years, so naturally that's how I began to view my body - as a problem. I didn't possess washboard abs so bikini bottoms were out of the question for sunbathing, and only shorts that covered the lower part of my tummy would do. As soon as the summer months start approaching we are bombarded with messages through the media that the body we possess at this moment in time is not 'bikini-ready'. You need to get your 'beach body' now. You are not good enough in your present state for the all hallowed months of summer. Adverts on the TV start showing women orgasming over yoghurt, everything becomes low calorie and fat-free, and we're suggested to start ridiculous cereal diets. The women held up as the ultimate goal are often airbrushed models with basically zero body fat. I was part of the young generation fed images of highly Photoshopped, extremely skinny girls being heralded as the epitome of beauty. It's not hard to see why I felt like crap when I simply wanted to bear some skin to sunbathe in my garden.

A super toned, lean body is relatable and easily attainable for some, my sister has this exact body type where no matter what she stays crazy slim and lean, but why is this the only body deemed by the media to be 'summer ready'? Why are women being told parts of their body are 'problematic'? Why is so much attention paid to how we look in a bikini, in the first place? According to the mainstream, a toned tummy is a key accessory for a woman. I find this bizarre because for many women it is pretty much biologically impossible to achieve a flat, lean stomach and maintain a low amount of overall body fat. I wish I could link to a proper scientific study, but these two articles highlight how many factors affect women's tummies including hormones, age, stress and genetics. A constantly flat stomach and low overall body fat are actually quite unnatural for women, so why are we always represented in this way and told this is what we should be aiming for?

I honestly thought there was something wrong with me when I was younger because I found it so hard to achieve and maintain a lean stomach. I had only ever really seen images of very toned tummies (excluding art from centuries ago where soft bellies were all the rage) so assumed I should naturally have one too. In tv shows and films, even after a woman has eaten a big meal, her stomach will be as flat as a pancake if shown. Magazines plaster images of female celebs on their pages with a red circle around their slightly curved tummy questioning how many months pregnant they are - because obviously only pregnant women have a curved stomach *insert infinite eyerolls here*.

I exercise regularly, eat a healthy balanced diet and have a somewhat slim and toned body, but there is no way I can maintain a round-the-clock, 365 days a year flat stomach and I would have to work very hard to achieve a lean body. When I wake up in the morning with an empty stomach then yes, my stomach is flat. But throughout the day as I eat and drink, a curve appears. Our bodies adapt to hold the fuel we need to live and allow us to enjoy big yummy comforting meals. I remember watching Juno and the scene where they mention a 'food baby' was a complete revelation to me - other girl's tummies resemble one holding a four-month old fetus when they've eaten a big meal too?!? Body fat is vital for female bodies and mine sure loves to store it around my lower stomach and hips - like lots of other women. And if it's that time of the month then I'm sure to be puffy with water retention. Representation of women's bodies has somewhat improved due to much public outcry; I've seen various businesses showing their swimwear/lingerie on a range of bodies, and recently the Mayor of London banned body shaming ads from public transport. However, we still have a way to go before we see these 'bikini-body' messages and flat tummy expectations eradicated altogether.

Years of subliminal summer brainwashing doesn't disappear overnight. I still catch myself being self conscious, but I refuse to spend my days starved and dehydrated, and exhausted from endless hours of exercise to fit into someone's definition of beauty and 'bikini-ready'. I'm tired of trying to fight how my body naturally wants to be. People love to put women into one homogeneous group, but we are not all the same. We are individuals (shock horror!) and actual human beings - not just bodies and problem areas. There is no 'wrong' or 'right' way to look. And, to be honest, there are much more important things to concentrate on than achieving what the mainstream subjectively deems 'beautiful'. There's nothing wrong with wanting to improve yourself and feel your best, just don't fall into the trap of beating yourself up and wanting to be someone other than you. Here in the UK we only get a select few proper days of summer; we should be busy soaking up the sun, not feeling self conscious. As I type this, it has been pouring rain and everyone is willing the sun to break through the clouds. The truth is we are already ready for summer, for beaches, and for bikinis just the way we are.

Wednesday, 18 May 2016

#12 Social Media Interaction, The More The Better?

There's no arguing that social media has become a part of many people's lives around the globe. Whether it's Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, or the like, most of us have an account on at least one platform. People even hold social media jobs - they weren't around a decade ago! It feels as if social media has always been around, but it wasn't too long ago, that if you took a photo of your food before eating it that you would get some really strange looks.

We all seem to be tweeting, 'gramming and pinning. So much so, there are now various studies focusing on the negative effects of being on social media too much. The internet is littered with anti-social media opinions, stating we no longer talk to each other and are glued to our phones. I really disagree with the idea that social media is affecting our connection with others, for me the world seems like such a small place now. Through social media, I'm able to easily keep in touch with family and friends in numerous countries, more so than if we didn't have social media. I have also been able to 'meet' lots of people that I never would have met in 'real-life'. So, if anything, social media has allowed me to connect with more people, and without speaking on the phone (which is a huge plus, because I hate speaking on the phone!)

That being said, I am also aware of the negative effects that can come with being too acquainted with social media. It's so easy to get swept up in comparing your life to others, and feeling like you're inadequate or missing out. However, we should remember that all of us tend to only show our best bits - you never know what goes on behind those glossy photos... I limit the amount of time I spend on platforms, because I do find constant exposure negatively affects my mood. Most of my time is spent on Instagram, where I actually gain a lot of positivity and inspiration, but that's because I've made sure I'm following accounts that evoke those feelings - I think I'll do a separate post on my realisation of that.

One thing I have recently become aware of is, though people may have countless followers or friends, the engagement from them is often very low. I've seen various bloggers on twitter talk about decreasing comments being left on their blog posts. On Instagram and Twitter, I have noted that the amount of likes on posts in relation to followers is crazy low. Some of this may be due to people buying followers (which is a completely bizarre concept to me and something I didn't know about until a couple of weeks ago) and inactive accounts. But why is having a huge amount of followers being held as the ultimate goal, when surely their engagement with your content is much more important?! Another question raised is, why are we passively receiving content? While we might be scrolling through and posting on platforms, why are we not interacting with others on them?

Maria Konnikova notes one study about Facebook interaction found "when people engaged in direct interaction with others their feelings of bonding and general social capital increased, while their sense of loneliness decreased". I really think that study is onto something. It's not social media itself that produces negative effects, but how we engage with it. Eurovision was a few days ago, and interacting with people who were live-tweeting really did create this sense of community (until the votes of course). Whereas if I just passively scroll through endless posts on Facebook or Instagram, I will most certainly feel deflated. So if engaging and connecting with others is the key to feeling positive when using social media, why are we not doing this? Personally, I frequently connect with those I follow because I am genuinely interested in what they are posting. I think it's important to let people know you're liking and enjoying their content, in order for them to keep making more of stuff you enjoy! I feel like on Facebook people almost feel forced to 'friend' those they really have no interest in, which then leads to the negative feelings associated with that platform. I would suggest looking at your accounts and the people you follow, and consider why it is you are following them. If you're passively receiving their postings without engaging in any way, ask yourself why this is. Are you really interested in their posts? Are you just following for the sake of it? Do you feel like for some reason you can't engage with the OP?

Social media can be a great source of information and inspiration. Being able to connect with people from all different places and backgrounds is such an amazing thing. I love the fact that I can write a blog post, or take a photo and put it out there for the world to see. What we need to be mindful of, is our motivations behind using social media. If we want to gain positivity and inspiration from it, then we can. On the flipside, it can also be a breeding ground for negativity. I think a lot of users forget that we have choice. If you no longer like an account then unfollow it, if you see content you don't like then click out of it. Why spend your time looking at something you don't like, enjoy or agree with which will ultimately make you unhappy? If we all took an extra second to 'like' a photo, or congratulate someone on their good news, then think about all the positivity we would be spreading. I believe the notion of 'doing something nice for someone will also make you feel good' completely translates to our online world. So, the next time you're scrolling through your fave social media platform and see something you like, let that person know! You'll probably feel happier and more connected by doing it.

Monday, 9 May 2016

#11 Practising Patience

One word that other people have used consistently to describe me throughout my life is 'laid-back'. Even school reports from when I was really young use some kind of adjective such as relaxed, calm, mellow, etc. Then, in secondary school, teachers confused my air of 'easy-goingness' as 'coasting' - which was so not true. It was kind of ironic, considering by the time I reached my leaving exams (GCSEs) I experienced several panic attacks and had constant problems with my tonsils due to stress.

I do agree to some extent that, yes, I am quite laid-back; I don't freak-out during stressful situations, I am more than happy to go along with other people's plans, and I don't tend to let little day-to-day things bother me. My parents have always said I was a really calm child, and I do believe my true self is really as cool as a cucumber. However, you would be 100% wrong to assume I never feel anxious or worried. I remember having to give a presentation in school and being ridiculously nervous, yet my teacher singled me out for delivering a confident, enjoyable speech. I was so confused, because I was such a wreck before-hand and was sure that would come through once I spoke. What I have realised over the years, is I have a brilliant poker face. I can appear to be composed, even if I have a million anxious thoughts running through my head. You know that saying about a duck looking calm, but paddling like crazy underneath the water? - that is definitely me.

A word that could be associated with being laid-back, is patience. I used to believe I was patient, but as I'm getting older I feel my patience levels are decreasing. I think it's a mix between living in a 24/7 world where everything is delivered straight away, and because I am so aware of mortality that I have developed an urgency to do everything right now before I get old and die. It also doesn't help that you're expected to have 10 years of work experience when you've just graduated, which adds to my need to accomplish a million and one things at once. I find reading about other's successes, especially those around my age, adds to my impatience. When people talk about their awesome job and finding their ~path and passion~, I end up wishing that was me right now.

I have been reading Lisa Jakub's amazing blog, where she talks a lot about finding your 'authentic path', which is basically what I'm trying to do now. I sent her a tweet and she replied with this pearl of wisdom. The 'just be patient' part really stood out to me. We are bombarded with people's accomplishments, but their trials and struggles are often glossed over. It's easy to paint someone as an overnight sensation, when it has really taken them years of hard graft and lows to get to that point. This is where my patience problem lies. I need to acknowledge that these years of my life are my hard-grafting phase; exertion, rejection, and wrong turns in my path will be rife.

There's a post circulating on social media at the moment, which highlights several well-known people that didn't achieve or start working towards their dreams until various points in their life. Being of the Disney Channel/YouTube generation, where child stars and young people are wildly rich and successful (though, happy? maybe not) and held as the ultimate goal, I have acquired a weird guilt that I'm not that. Which is stupid, because I am sure that level of attention would drive me crazy! What that post emphasised to me is, it's okay to not have reached your dreams, or discovered your authentic path at the ripe old age of 22 ;), or at any age. And those who do achieve their goals at a young age or very quickly, are anomalies. We need time and lots of hard work to get there. Success isn't an easy journey from A to B, it's more like climbing a mountain range full of ups and downs, highs and lows.

Rome wasn't built in a day. Achievements don't happen overnight. It's our efforts over countless days and nights, spanning months and years, that lead us to create something worthwhile and of meaning. So, in the words of Lisa, I'm going to be patient and enjoy the journey.

Sunday, 24 April 2016

#10 Getting Fit Without The Gym

I consider myself to be in pretty good shape. I can run a fair bit without feeling like I'm going to die, and I can lift a certain amount of weight without feeling like my arms are going to break off. Pretty good going, I think. And I have gotten to this point without ever stepping foot inside a gym.

Disclaimer: I haven't got some weird vendetta against gyms, it's just when I started exercising going to a gym wasn't an option for me. I chose to do home workouts, and six years later I haven't looked back! I'm not a personal trainer, this is all based on my own experience. If you can get a personal trainer, then I would definitely recommend getting one. Oh, and getting a doctor to check your overall health before starting to exercise is a really good idea.

1. Don't go H.A.M
You're all fired up and motivated to exercise, so you choose an intense workout and do an hour everyday for a week. STOOOOP!!! You will burn out or injure yourself, and then you'll give up.
If you're a complete newbie, I recommend you start building your stamina by going for brisk walks. Get used to your heart beating faster than normal, and recognise the feeling of getting a bit out of breath and challenged. Dancing non-stop around your room for half-an-hour is another fun introduction!
Half an hour is an ample amount of time to exercise for beginners, you can slowly work up to longer if you want.
Don't go for intense, intermediate/advanced workouts, you need to start at a suitable level. Youtube has a ton of awesome beginner workouts and some DVDs are made for beginners (there's a list at the end of my faves). Focus on technique and form, this will build a solid foundation for harder workouts, which you will get to!

2. Find what works for you
I hate dance workouts, they don't motivate me and I never enjoy them; my sister loves them. I prefer more 'boot camp' style workouts, where the trainers really push you - though many people find them too intimidating.
There are sooo many ways to exercise including running, cycling, plyometrics, HIIT, pilates, yoga, circuits...... the list is endless. I suggest trying as many workouts as you can and focusing on a few you really like. Having a variety of workouts means you'll never get bored and you'll always be challenged. You don't need a lot of space for most workouts, bedrooms and living rooms are often perfect.

3. I'm all about the weights
Weights are the best way to gain strength and sculpt your body. Cardio is great for quickly shedding fat and giving your cardiovascular system a workout, but weight based training will make your body strong and, in my opinion, is what sets you up long-term. You will not get bulky, trust me. Those fitness models you see online and in magazines have spent a lot of time and effort getting their bodies that ripped. You can start by using your own body weight, water bottles, heavy books etc. Get a dumbbell set, 0.5kg to 3kg will be more than enough to keep you going for a while. Then, if you really want to build some muscle, you can graduate onto cast iron sets.

4. Rome wasn't built in a day
Going back to those fitness models, you won't look like them after a week, a month, or even a few months, and you don't ever have to look like them. Fitness comes in all shapes and sizes. Do yourself a massive favour and completely forget about those super fit specimens. Appreciate what your body can do at this moment in time, don't get lost trying to build your future body. Some days you will have amazing workouts, and other days will be crap. Slow and steady, and lots of self-love wins the fitness race. Ditch the weighing scales, weight doesn't equal fitness, measure your progress through fitness goals e.g. running for a minute longer, or doing one more squat than yesterday.

5. Your instructor is a guide, not a mirror
Remember the trainers in the workouts have been exercising for years, and have had breaks throughout filming. If you need a twenty second rest, then take one! Don't feel you have to do all of the reps that the instructor is doing, if you can only do five lunges instead of the ten shown that's okay. As long as you're doing your best and feeling challenged, that's fine! If you're really having trouble, consider a slightly lower level of workout to build up your fitness. Most workout DVDs will have a 'modifier' so concentrate on what they're doing, and when you feel ready try the more advanced moves, even if it's just for a few seconds.

6. The internet is your friend, but also your enemy
There is an abundance of knowledge and information on the web, and there are some amazing free workouts out there. I have learnt so much over the years by reading articles, searching on forums and watching videos. However, and this is a big however, take everything you read with a pinch of salt. If you read something new, look for a second, third, fourth opinion on it. Check the source of the information, and even then be wary. The fitness world is full of grey areas, and people giving their opinion as fact. If it seems extreme or just plain weird, then avoid it. Listen to your own body, and find what works for you - the point of fitness is to feel positive and full of energy.

7. Taste the rainbow
One thing that really irks me, and something I got caught up in when I first started, is the bullshit nutritional information around. Do not restrict your eating and get caught up in counting calories, please. We need food to live. If you don't eat, you will feel like shit. If you eat a ton of crap, you will also feel like shit. You don't need to fast. If you are hungry, eat. You don't need to cut carbs, your body needs carbs more than anything, carbs are your friend.
Eat as natural as possible, and in abundance. You should feel energised and satisfied, not tired and sluggish.
I always make sure that my meals contain at least three lots of veggies or fruit, as these are so damn good for you. There is no such thing as too much fruit or veg, especially veggies, eat all the veg!! The more colour on your plate, or in your bowl, the better. There is nothing wrong with eating cake, crisps, chocolate etc, as long as it's not all day every day. Ensure most of your daily food comes from wholesome sources and then eat that cake and enjoy it, damn it! I could do a whole post on nutrition, because I see so much shite written about it. Food is awesome, eating is awesome. Don't let anyone tell you any different.

8. Rest and Stretch 
Loads of guides will tell you to exercise six times a week. If you can do this, great, but I think for many people six times is quite a lot. Three/four times a week is a realistic weekly goal, in my opinion. If your muscles feel sore, do some stretching and light moving around, but don't do a full-on workout. Rest is just as important as exercise. Your body needs time to unwind and recover. Don't feel bad if you skip a day or two, or even weeks, life can get in the way. If you're feeling tired or unwell, rest. Getting the balance right between exercising and resting is vital. Listen to your body. Remember you should feel positive and energised.
Stretching is also very important!! The biggest problem I have with home workout videos, is the stretching at the end is often rushed and too short. Spend at least five minutes stretching at the end, it will stop your muscles getting as sore and will help with flexibility. Just stretch, okay?


Workouts I love and recommend:
Body Buff/Super Body Workout/Fit - Davina McCall (Perfect for beginners) Just don't do the static stretches at the beginning of her workouts, do active/dynamic ones to warm up your muscles.

30 Day Shred/Ripped in 30 - Jillian Michaels (Beginner/Intermediate) These will kick your butt and are a good intro to Jillian. I love most of Jillian's workouts, so just do 'em!

Focus T25 - Shaun T (Beginner/Intermediate/Advanced) Not at all like Insanity, which is crazy intense. Lots of different exercises, and only 25 minutes long.

Body Beast - Sagi (Intermediate/Advanced) I always find myself laughing at how ridiculously macho the workouts are, but don't let that put you off! Body Beast is amazing for building muscles.

FitnessBlender.com - Daniel and Kelli have the most amazing array of workouts, and they are free! You are sure to find a workout for your needs. They have great warm ups and stretching vids too.

GymRaA channel on YouTube with a lot of workout videos. Some are better than others, worth a look.

Tone It Up - Another YouTube channel with lots of short workouts. I don't use their videos any more, but they are great for beginners and a quick morning/evening workout.

Blogilates - If you're interested in body weight workouts and pilates, then Blogilates is your girl.

Yoga by Adrienne and BrettLarkinYoga- Two fantastic YouTube channels full of yoga videos, and you don't need to be crazy flexible to do them. Get some yoga in your life, it's great.
-
I really hope this post is somewhat helpful. Any questions, please leave them below :)

Friday, 8 April 2016

#9 Return to the blog

Ok, so the last time I blogged was the beginning of January. It's now April. How fast is this year going?!

The first three months of 2016 went by in a flurry of lesson plans and PowerPoint presentations. Thankfully my hard-work paid off and I passed my CELTA with a Pass B, which is only awarded 24% of students worldwide - woohoo! Though achieving a 'Pass' is a feat in itself and is really all you need to be able to teach afterwards.

The course was full on and threw me right in the deep end of teaching English Language. Fortunately, I didn't have other work or family commitments so I was able to keep on top of the assignments and lesson planning - organisation is key to surviving and passing CELTA! I also didn't have to resubmit any assignments which helped me to keep on track. Knowledge of English Language is vital, or you'll find yourself trying to learn grammar alongside all the other work you have to do - Martin Parrott's 'Grammar for English Language Teachers' is a godsend.

Our daily structure was input sessions in the morning, where we would learn about teaching methodologies, and then teaching practise in the afternoon. I loved that the methods taught focused on involving the students as much as possible and keeping 'teacher talk' to the minimum - pretty much the contrary to how most of us were taught in school. At first I was so nervous about teaching practise, but as I taught more lessons my confidence grew and I ended up loving the challenge of creating a lesson and delivering it in a successful, fun way; there really is nothing better than seeing students progress and learn new things, and comment on how much they enjoyed and benefited from the lesson.

I would 100% recommend CELTA to anyone who is interested in teaching, or wants to further their skills and 'add another string to their bow'. I love that I now have the freedom of travelling pretty much anywhere and being able to teach English to adults or children. The course challenged me in various ways and the trainers encouraged us to be as independent as possible, so even if I don't end up teaching EFL I have gained so many transferable skills as well as a strong awareness of English.

Now, to the future *dun dun dun*. I had a battle deciding whether to stay in the UK or start teaching abroad. I've decided to stay where I am for now and get a Teaching Assistant job in a local school, so I can continue to dip my toe into teaching and get more classroom experience. If I get the itch to go abroad then I think English summer camps will be a great short-term option.

Who knows where the future will take me, but for now I'm pretty happy just trying to get as much experience as possible! If you have any questions about CELTA, leave a comment and I'll get back to you.

Thursday, 7 January 2016

#8 Special Occasions and Perfect Moments

Happy New Year! Seems a bit late to be saying it, but it's my first post of 2016 so seems rude not to!
You'll be pleased to know this post is not about resolutions or losing the christmas chub - there's more than enough being written about them, and I find they often spout the same old stuff and are never that helpful. If you want to set resolutions then do it, if you don't then don't. If you want to go on a health kick then go for it, if you're not bothered then that's ok too. Do what makes you happy and do it for yourself - that's all I'll say on the matter!

Instead, I want to talk about a couple of quotes I have been thinking about since I saw them posted by a number people over the past few weeks.


I don't know about you, but I am a sucker for saving things 'for a special occasion'. No matter the time of year, I'll always have a stash of things which I'm saving for 'another time'. The thing is, these 'special occasions' and 'other times' never really come around. Once I had a perfume that I was saving and I ended up getting about half-way through it when it went off. Just this past christmas I had a some festive themed clothes that I kept putting off wearing, and before I knew it christmas was over and they were never worn. While it is nice to have special things that we don't use daily, if they just sit there getting old then we're not getting the most of their value - I'd rather something lost its 'value' through being used and appreciated, than because it sat on a shelf becoming old and obsolete.

The same notion applies to waiting for the perfect or 'right' moment. It's so easy to procrastinate and put off doing or starting something because it's 'not the right moment'. I find myself sometimes thinking 'I can't do that because of x y z. Once those things are sorted then I'll be ready and I'll start'. It's a bit like that saying 'a diet starts on Monday', but when Monday comes around we realise nothing has changed and so the diet never starts. I think it's easy to romanticise a perfect future where everything comes together at the 'right' moment, and we are fully prepared and will just know what to do - but let's be real, life doesn't work like that. We can never be fully ready because it's not through preparation, but through trial and error, that we really learn and grow. And what is a right, or perfect, or special moment?

So, if there's something I'll be reminding myself of throughout 2016 it's to appreciate and use the things I have, realise there are no perfect, special or right moments, and to accept life is full of uncertainty and chaos. Life is happening right now, this is the moment, so stop putting it off and jump in!